Immigration Education

Key Concepts of American Government

The Supreme Law

The Constitution of the United States is the supreme law of the land. It sets up and defines the government. The Constitution also protects our basic rights.

The Preamble of the Constitution starts with the three words: "We the People". These words represents the idea of self-government.


A change, or an addition to the Constitution is called an amendment. The first ten amendments are called the Bill of Rights. The Constitution has 27 amendments.


Our Constitution gives some powers to the states. Such powers are:

schooling and education, protection and approving zoning and land use.

Rule of Law

Rule of Law means that everyone must follow the law, also leaders and the government. No one is above the law.

Declaration of Independence

The Declaration of Independence was written by Thomas Jefferson, who became the third President of the United States of America. There are three rights in the Declaration of Independence for every U.S. Citizen:


life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness

Branches of Government

Our government is divided into three branches in order to secure the separation of powers, also called Check and Balances.

These branches are the legislative (Congress), the executive (President) and the judicial (Courts).

Federal Laws

Federal Laws are made by Congress, the Senate and House of Representatives as well as by U.S. legislature.

The Economic System of the United States

We have a market economy (capitalist economy).