Germany is a federal state consisting of 16 states. The country's political system is a parliamentary democracy. The parliament of Germany is called Bundestag. It is in the Reichstag Building in Berlin. The Bundestag elects Germany's head of government, the Chancellor. Members of the state governments are in the Reichstag. Both the Bundestag and the Reichstag form the legislative and are involved in lawmaking.